Teacher Excellence Award


What is the Teacher Excellence Award?

Sponsored by ITEEA and Goodheart-Willcox, The Teacher Excellence Award is one of the highest honors given to technology and engineering education classroom teachers and is presented in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the profession and their students. The Teacher Excellence Award provides public recognition at the local/state through international levels.

The Teacher Excellence Awards program was established to identify outstanding technology and engineering teachers who will serve as models for their colleagues and who could form a leadership core to affect change in the field. Separate Teacher Excellence Awards are available for elementary, middle and high school teachers. Every state is eligible to participate with their selected recipients at each level (Elementary, Middle, and High School).

Why Apply?

As an honoree and recipient of this recognition, each Teacher Excellence awardee receives a discounted registration to attend the ITEEA Annual conference. The Teacher Excellence recipient’s administrator(s) is offered a complimentary registration. Each award recipient receives a free (1) year ITEEA Professional Electronic Membership. In addition to recognizing outstanding teaching in Technology and Engineering, the program provides teachers with an opportunity to build a lasting network with colleagues across the nation. This growing and vital network of award-winning teachers serves as an unparalleled vital resource for improving public understanding of technology and engineering through integrative STEM education and its contributions to the world in which we live.

Who is Eligible?

All teachers at the elementary and secondary level that meet the following eligibility criteria:

The teacher must be (or become) a member of ITEEA and his/her respective State Association.
The teacher must be incorporating technology and engineering content and principles into the curriculum
The teacher must have a minimum of three years of teaching experience.  



ANYONE—principals, teachers, parents, students, or members of the general public—may nominate exceptional technology and engineering programs in Grades K-12. Nominations may be submitted for more than one teacher at each program level (K-6, middle, and high school). Teachers may also nominate themselves.

Click here to NOMINATE yourself or someone else.The deadline to submit a nomination form and supporting materials is December 1 of each year.


All applications will undergo the following review process:

At the state level, a committee will review each application and determine which applicant best exemplifies excellence in teaching by utilizing activities/instruction that meet or exceed accepted state/national technology and engineering standards. The state coordinator/affiliate representative will forward all final award nominations to ITEEA.

At the national level, ITEEA will recognize each state’s winning teacher at the elementary, middle school, and high school levels at its Annual Conference. 

All applicants will be notified as to the status of their application by February 15.

Questions? iteea@iteea.org or call 703.860.2100.