In This Newsletter Issue

ITEEA Recognizes Outstanding Educators at Annual Conference

March 20, 2017

News - Mar17 - TE small

Outstanding technology and engineering educators and students were honored by the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) at its 79th Annual Conference held March 16-18, 2017 in Dallas, Texas. 

Forty classroom educators and 25 programs at the elementary, middle, and high school levels received ITEEA’s Teacher Excellence Award and Program Excellence Award, the most prestigious awards given in recognition of Technology and Engineering Education Teachers and Programs.

ITEEA also bestowed the Distinguished Technology and Engineering Professional designation on eight individuals. The DTE designation is a coveted mark of distinction in technology and engineering education and recognizes educators who have demonstrated a high level of competence and conscientiousness in the field.

Also awarded were Special Recognition Awards to the following individuals:

  • Academy of Fellows: Richard Seymour
  • Special Recognition Award: Jeff Rosen
  • Wilkinson Meritorious Service Award: Eugene Martin
  • Lockette/Monroe Humanitarian Award: Joey Rider-Bertrand
  • Award of Distinction: Jianjun Gu
  • Prakken Professional Cooperation Award: Georgette Yakman

             Through its Foundation for Technology and Engineering Education, ITEEA recognized students at the graduate and undergraduate levels with scholarships and grants to further their educational pursuits.         

             ITEEA President, Dr. Edward Reeve, shared, “It is always an honor and pleasure for ITEEA to recognize those professionals, including teachers and students, who go the ‘extra mile’ in their commitment to excellence in the profession and in their teaching and learning environments. As President of ITEEA, I am always proud to interact and be associated with these individuals.

For more information about ITEEA, its Annual Conference, or its Awards Program, contact ITEEA by phone: (703) 860-2100, email:, or visit the website at