In This Newsletter Issue

Apply Now! The Gerhard Salinger Award for Enhancing STEM Education through Technological/Engineering Design-Based Instruction

October 15, 2018

Gerhard Salinger Award for Enhancing STEM Education through Technological/ Engineering Design-Based Instruction 

This award is presented annually to an individual or team of collaborators whose work has exemplified, promoted, investigated, and/or enhanced teaching and learning in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) through the effective application of technological / engineering design activity. The award was created in honor of Dr. Gerhard Salinger, program officer at the National Science Foundation from 1989 to 2014, whose work to promote the use of engineering design activity and whose advocacy for technology and engineering education has widely influenced STEM education. The award is open to classroom teachers, university educators, school administrators, and others whose contributions are consistent with the selection criteria.

Selection Criteria
Nominees will be judged on the extent to which their work has exemplified, promoted, investigated, and/or enhanced teaching and learning in the STEM disciplines through:

  1. Use of technological / engineering design-based instructional practices toeffectively integrate Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics; or
  2. Contributions to the understanding of successful practices intechnological/engineering design and their outcomes at the K-12 level.

Selection Process

  • The award will be publicized via ITEEA and its affiliate councils’ Websites and listservs (CC, CSL, and CTETE). Notification of the call fornominations will also be sent to the Directors of related STEMorganizations (e.g., ASEE, NCTM, NSTA, the Triangle Coalition).
  • A call for nominations (including self-nominations) will be disseminatedvia these listservs/Web sites by no later than November 10th of each year.

TO APPLY: The nomination/application packet must include:

  • A cover page with the name, title, and full contact information fornominee(s).
  • A description (600 words maximum) of the nominee’s contributionsas they relate to the selection criteria. In addition, nominators areencouraged to submit supporting evidence (e.g., links topublications, samples of work, digital images or short video clips,and so on) that will assist the selection committee in judging thework. Supporting documentation should not exceed 25 pages.

The President of CTETE will be responsible for soliciting and collecting applications. The selection committee will consist of two representatives from the CTETE Executive Committee; one representative from each of the ITEEA Board, Elementary STEM Council, and CSL Executive Committees; and (when possible) a prior recipient of the award. Selection will be by majority vote; when necessary, the CTETE President will break a tie vote.

The recipient of the Salinger Award will be announced at the annual ITEEA conference. The awardee will be notified in advance so thatarrangements can be made for the recipient to receive the award in person.

Venue for Presentation: ITEEA Awards and Recognition Program and the CTETE Awards Dinner


The award recipient will receive a framed certificate of award and recognition at the CTETE Awards Banquet and at the ITEEA Awards Luncheon. A letter will be sent to the awardee’s supervisor (where applicable) by the CTETE President, acknowledging the award. Nomination Deadline

Nomination Deadline

The deadline for nominations for the 2019 Gerhard Salinger Award is Friday, December 28, 2018. Nomination packets should be sent to the 2016-2019 CTETE President, Charles McLaughlin ( Nomination packets should be emailed as a single PDF file, with the subject line “Salinger Award Nomination.”