In This Newsletter Issue

NEWS RELEASE: ITEEA Recognizes Outstanding Educators at 81st Annual Conference

April 02, 2019

RESTON, VA., APRIL 3, 2019Outstanding technology and engineering educators and students were honored by the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) at its 81st Annual Conference held March 27-30, 2019 in Kansas City, MO. 

Forty classroom educators and 38 programs from around the globe at the elementary, middle, and high school levels received ITEEA’s Teacher Excellence Award and Program Excellence Award, the most prestigious awards given in recognition of Technology and Engineering Education Teachers and Programs.

ITEEA also bestowed the Distinguished Technology and Engineering Professional designation on five individuals. The DTE designation is a coveted mark of distinction in technology and engineering education and recognizes educators who have demonstrated a high level of competence and conscientiousness in the field. Recipients included John Donley, Gregory Kane, Charlotte Waddell, Jason Hlavacs, and Jeremy V. Ernst.

Receiving Special Recognition Awards were the following individuals:

  • Academy of Fellows: Rosanne White
  • Special Recognition Award: Roger Hill, DTE and William Havice, DTE
  • Wilkinson Meritorious Service Award: Charles H. Goodwin, DTE
  • Lockette/Monroe Humanitarian Award: Laura Hummell, DTE
  • Award of Distinction: Thomas Roberts
  • Prakken Professional Cooperation Award: Gavin Wood
  • Public Understanding of Technology and Engineering Education Award: Scott Bartholomew
  • Gerhard Salinger Award for Enhancing STEM Education Through Technological/Engineering Design-Based Instruction: Millersville University’s Integrative STEM Education Methods (ISTEM) Program Faculty and Research Team
  • William E. Dugger Exemplary Collaboration Award: John Ritz, DTE

Additionally, four individuals received the distinction of “Emerging Leader,” which recognizes technology, innovation, design, and engineering educators who have demonstrated a high level of competence and professional activity in the field of technology and engineering education. 2019 recipients included Emily J. Loving, Melvin Gill, Alisa Rushing, Richard Reynolds, Joan Harper-Neely, and Frank Caccavale.

Through its Foundation for Technology and Engineering Education, ITEEA recognized students at the graduate and undergraduate levels with scholarships and grants to further their educational pursuits.      

Receiving ITEEA’s “Veterans Make Great STEM Teachers Scholarship” was George Smith of Buffalo State University.

ITEEA President, Michael Sandell, DTE, shared, "The way these leaders and educators have touched the lives of so many is AWESOME! The work of the members who received awards at this year's conference is indicative of the work done by members of ITEEA at all levels of education, K-16."

For more information about ITEEA, its Annual Conference, or its Awards Program, contact ITEEA by phone: (703) 860-2100, email:, or visit the website at