ITEEA Member Named Outstanding STEM Award Recipient by Virginia Governor

September 05, 2019

Virginia Governor Ralph Northam and the Science Museum of Virginia’s Chief Wonder Officer Richard Conti announced the 2019 Outstanding STEM Award recipients on September 4th. Five individuals, including ITEEA member Barbar Westlund, were selected for their scientific contributions, which help strengthen the Commonwealth’s current and future position as a leader in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) fields.

“Virginia has a distinguished record as one of the best states in the STEM disciplines, and that is because of the talent, innovation, and entrepreneurial spirit of scientists, students, and educators like those we are honoring with this year’s awards,” said Governor Northam. “I am proud to continue the tradition of celebrating the tremendous achievements of these Virginians, and thank them for their contributions to these important fields.”

For more than 30 years, Virginia has been recognizing excellence across the Commonwealth with the Outstanding STEM Awards. This year, winners are honored in three categories:

  • Virginia’s Outstanding Scientist, awarded to scientists who have made globally significant contributions to their field.
  • STEM Conductor, awarded to a Virginia educator who has created enriching experiences that inspire the next generation of STEM enthusiasts.
  • STEM Phenom, awarded to a student who applied STEM principles for exceptional ends to make the world a better place.

ITEEA member Barbara Westlund was awarded the STEM Conductor award. She is a STEM resource teacher and coach at Yorktown Elementary Math, Science, and Technology Magnet School. The Hampton Roads resident holds a Master’s Certification in Integrated STEM Education and is currently working toward a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership. She has collaborated with LEGO™ and NASA to plan and facilitate STEM professional development sessions for staff at her school and regularly provides division-wide STEM training for York County Public Schools.

Read the full press release