In This Newsletter Issue

NEWS RELEASE: ITEEA Recognizes Outstanding Educators at 82nd Annual Conference

March 18, 2020

RESTON, VA., MARCH 18, 2020 – Outstanding technology and engineering educators and students were honored by the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) at its 82nd Annual Conference held March 11-13, 2020 in Baltimore, MD. 

ITEEA bestowed the Distinguished Technology and Engineering Professional designation on six individuals. The DTE designation is a coveted mark of distinction in technology and engineering education and recognizes educators who have demonstrated a high level of competence and conscientiousness in the field. Recipients included Barbara Dunham, Kuen-Yi Lin, Steve Parrott, Michael Sundblad, Daniel Trent, and Geoffrey Wright.

Also awarded were Special Recognition Awards to the following individuals:

  • Academy of Fellows: Johnny J Moye, DTE
  • Special Recognition Award: Tyler S. Love
  • Wilkinson Meritorious Service Award: Mohamad Barbarji, DTE
  • Lockette/Monroe Humanitarian Award: Scott A Warner
  • Award of Distinction: Virginia R. Jones, DTE
  • Prakken Professional Cooperation Award: Robert Pletka
  • Public Understanding of Technology and Engineering Education Award: Thomas R. Loveland, DTE and Marie Hoepfl
  • Gerhard Salinger Award for Enhancing STEM Education Through Technological/Engineering Design-Based Instruction: Tyler Love
  • William E. Dugger Exemplary Collaboration Award: Bryanne Peterson
  • Presidential Citation: Chris Merrill, DTE

Additionally, four individuals received the distinction of “Emerging Leader,” which recognizes technology, innovation, design, and engineering educators who have demonstrated a high level of competence and professional activity in the field of technology and engineering education. 2020 recipients included Jason Palo, Joanna Papadopoulos, Bryanne Peterson, and Trevor P. Robinson.

This year was the inaugural recognition for ITEEA STEM Schools of Excellence. The following schools were recognized:

  • Carrollton School of the Sacred Heart, Miami, FL
  • Darien High School, Darien, CT
  • Hangzhou Greentown Yuhua Qinqin School, Hangzhou City, Zhejiang, China
  • High Point Regional High School, Sussex, NJ
  • Hillsboro Charter Academy, Purcellville, VA
  • Kinder Garden School, West Chester, OH
  • Laing Middle School of Science and Technology
  • Rockhurst High School, Kansas City, MO
  • Thomas Johnson Middle School, Lanham, MD
  • Unionville High School, Kennett Square, PA

Also new in 2020 was the presentation of awards to ITEEA’s REACH Challenge winners:

  • Winner – State College Area High School, State College, PA
  • Second Place – Donna Klein Jewish Academy (DKJA), Boca Raton, FL
  • Division Winner, Middle School – Vernon Johns Middle School, Petersburg, VA
  • Division Winner, High School – BCAT Engineering, Salem, VA
  • Division Winner, Collegiate – Berea College, Berea, KY

Forty five classroom educators and 29 programs from at the elementary, middle, and high school levels received ITEEA’s Teacher Excellence Award and Program Excellence Award, the most prestigious awards given in recognition of Technology and Engineering Education Teachers and Programs. See a complete list of Program and Teacher Excellence winners below.


  • Littleton High School, Littleton, Colorado
  • MOT Charter High School, Middletown, Delaware
  • P.S. duPont Middle School, Wilmington, Delaware
  • Clark Creek Elementary STEM Academy, Acworth, Georgia
  • Lockport Township High School, Lockport, Illinois
  • Nancy Elementary School, Nancy, Kentucky
  • Lyons Mill Elementary School, Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Old Mill Middle School South, Millersville, Maryland
  • Mount Hebron High School, Ellicott City, Maryland
  • Pattengill Biotechnical Magnet School, Lansing, Michigan
  • Westside High School, Omaha, Nebraska
  • Rancho High School, Las Vegas, NV
  • William Antheil Elementary School, Ewing, New Jersey
  • William Annin Middle School, Basking Ridge, New Jersey
  • Chatham High School, Chatham, New Jersey
  • Maine-Endwell High School, Endwell, New York            
  • Heritage Middle School, Wake Forest, North Carolina
  • Watauga High School, Boone, North Carolina
  • Mandan High School, Mandan, North Dakota
  • Conestoga High School, Lancaster, Pennsylvania
  • Greenville Junior/Senior High School, Greenville, Pennsylvania
  • Palmyra Area Elementary Division, Palmyra, Pennsylvania
  • Colleton Middle School, Waterboro, South Carolina
  • Lone Peak High School, Highland, Utah
  • Sherando High School, Stephens City, Virginia
  • Hudson Middle School, Hudson, Wisconsin
  • Portage High School, Portage, Wisconsin
  • The Primary School Attached to Xiaozhuang College, Nanjing, Jiangsu, China
  • The Kindergarten of Henan Province, Zhengzhou, Henan, China



  • James Lecroy, Alabama
  • James Salvant, Alabama
  • Emily Cook, Arkansas
  • Chelsey Turner, Arkansas
  • Guia M. Blaske, California
  • Sergio de Alba, California
  • Mike DeRock, Colorado
  • Michael Cercone, Connecticut
  • Laura Barnas, Delaware
  • Robert Bogdziewicz, Delaware
  • Tim Dalby, Delaware
  • Kellie Taylor, Idaho
  • Janine Stevens, Illinois
  • Patricia Whitehouse, Illinois
  • Jo Ann Spurr, Indiana
  • Trevor Maiseroulle, Kansas
  • Brian Crossman, Massachusetts
  • Amanda Hough, Massachusetts
  • James Hemming, Maryland
  • Zulay Joa, Maryland
  • Raymond Gerstner, Maryland
  • Heather Young, Michigan
  • Mitch Burfeind,Minnesota
  • Dawn Sorenson, Minnesota
  • Scott Weiler, Nevada
  • Zachary Trivett, North Carolina
  • William Holler, North Carolina
  • Tracy Foss, North Dakota
  • Matt Bova, Nebraska
  • William “Tracy” Dodson, Nebraska
  • Patricia Smeyers, New Jersey
  • Tara Dec, New Jersey
  • Timothy Zavacki, New Jersey
  • Caleb Mathias, Pennsylvania
  • Tyler Frantz, Pennsylvania
  • Eric Beiler, Pennsylvania
  • Tammy Vaught, South Carolina
  • Edward Williams, South Carolina
  • Candice Lawrence, Texas
  • Steve Bodell,Utah
  • Emily Ruesch, Utah
  • Dawn Rountree, Virginia
  • Alisa Rushing, Virginia
  • Heather Russell, Virginia
  • Steve Kmosena, Wisconsin

Through its Foundation for Technology and Engineering Education, ITEEA recognized students at the graduate and undergraduate levels with scholarships and grants to further their educational pursuits.    



Technology Challenge

  1. Fort Hays State University
  2. Utah State University/Brigham Young University
  3. Old Dominion University

Robotics Challenge

  1. Fort Hays State University Team 1
  2. Fort Hays State University Team 2/Purdue University
  3. Oswego State University

Transportation Challenge

  1. Purdue University
  2. Utah State University
  3. University of Northern Iowa

Educational Display

  1. Fort Hays State University
  2. Purdue University
  3. Fort Hays State University

Live Manufacturing

  1. Fort Hays State University
  2. Oswego State University
  3. Purdue University


  1. Brigham Young University
  2. Fort Hays State University
  3. Purdue University

Graphic Design

  1. The College of New Jersey
  2. Utah State University
  3. Brigham Young University

Problem Solving

  1. Fort Hays State University
  2. Purdue University
  3. Pittsburg State University

TEECA Outstanding Chapter: Purdue University

TEECA Outstanding Student: Daphne Fauber, Purdue

TEECA Outstanding Advisor: Geoff Wright, Brigham Young University


ITEEA President, Dr. Philip A. Reed, DTE, shared, “The award winners exhibit so many high-quality programs and activities occurring globally in technology and engineering education! It is inspiring to learn from these leaders, and we should all feel proud to be connected with these colleagues.”


Click here for more information on ITEEA Award and Scholarship opportunities.


Click here for more information about ITEEA or its Annual Conference.          


ITEEA will hold it's 83rd Annual Conference in Denver, CO on March 24-27, 2021.