In This Newsletter Issue

ITEEA Recognizes Outstanding Educators/Schools at 83nd Annual Conference

April 01, 2021




ITEEA Recognizes Outstanding Educators/Schools at 83nd Annual Conference



RESTON, VA., MARCH 31, 2021 – Outstanding technology and engineering educators and students were honored by the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) at its 83rd Annual Virtual Conference held March 22-27, 2021. 

Classroom educators and programs at the elementary, middle, and high school levels received ITEEA’s Teacher Excellence Award and Program Excellence Award, the most prestigious awards given in recognition of Technology and Engineering Education Teachers and Programs.

ITEEA also bestowed the Distinguished Technology and Engineering Professional designation on five individuals. The DTE designation is a coveted mark of distinction in technology and engineering education and recognizes educators who have demonstrated a high level of competence and conscientiousness in the field. Recipients included Brandt Hutzel, Emily Loving, Scott A. Warner, John G. Wells, and P. John Williams.

Also awarded were Special Recognition Awards to the following individuals:

  • Academy of Fellows: John G. Wells
  • William E. Dugger Exemplary Collaboration Award: William Havice, DTE and Roger Hill
  • Special Recognition Award: Karen Wosczyna-Birch
  • Wilkinson Meritorious Service Award: Julie Sicks-Panus
  • Lockette/Monroe Humanitarian Award: Brian Lien and David Worley, DTE
  • Award of Distinction: Steven Parrott, DTE
  • Prakken Professional Cooperation Award: Trena L. Wilkerson
  • Public Understanding of Technology and Engineering Education Award: Virginia R. Jones, DTE
  • Gerhard Salinger Award for Enhancing STEM Education Through Technological/Engineering Design-Based Instruction: Douglas Hunt, Alex Moll, Matt Peitzman, Thomas Singer, Dr. Mark French, and Debbie French
  • Presidential Citation: Chuchun Tsai, Matthew Swarts, and Robbie McClellan


Additionally, three individuals received the distinction of “Emerging Leader,” which recognizes technology, innovation, design, and engineering educators who have demonstrated a high level of competence and professional activity in the field of technology and engineering education. 2021 recipients included Nolan Fahrer, Molly Miller, and Euisuk Sung.

The following schools were recognized as ITEEA STEM Schools of Excellence :

  • Cannon Elementary School, Grapevine, TX
  • Hillsboro Charter Academy, Hillsboro, VA
  • Milwee Middle School Pre-Engineering Magnet, Longwood, FL
  • Kalani High School, Honolulu, HI
  • Oxon Hill High School, Oxon Hill, MD
  • Palmer Trinity School, Miami, FL
  • Pattengill Biotechnical Magnet School, Lansing, MI
  • Salamanca High School, Salamanca, NY
  • Southside STEM Academy at Campostella K-8 School, Norfolk, VA
  • Thomas Johnson Middle School, Lanham, MD

ITEEA’s REACH Challenge winners:

  • Winner – Olathe Northwest High School, Kansas
  • Second Place – Kalani High School, Hawaii
  • Finalist – State College Area High School, Pennsylvania
  • Finalist – John F. Kennedy High School, New York
  • Finalist – Northern Burlington County High School, New Jersey
  • Finalist – Scotch Plains Fanwood High School, New Jersey
  • Finalist – Thomas Hunter Middle School, VA

New in 2021 was the addition of the Excellence in Academic Leadership Awards:

  • Chris Bohle
  • John Clarke
  • Matt Davis
  • Kevin Giffhorn
  • Steven Gromling
  • Kenaz Greene
  • Benj Hamilton
  • Brandon Hardy
  • Earl Hurlburt
  • Edward McNett
  • Joel F. Perry
  • Daniel Stooks
  • Robert Thompson
  • Jennifer Tolley
  • Tom Walker
  • Melissa Yeager


“ITEEA President, Dr. Virginia R. Jones, DTE, shared, "ITEEA’s award winners demonstrated how integrative, inclusive, and global STEM education can be. Our winners ranged from elementary to post-secondary educators who showcased how learning can thrive even through a pandemic and provide quality, hands-on activities for all learners! We are proud to be connected with these exemplary leaders and look forward to many more outstanding contributions from them.”

Click here for more information on ITEEA Award and Scholarship opportunities.

Click here for more information about ITEEA or its Annual Conference.




ITEEA will hold its 84th Annual Conference in Orlando, FL on

March 9-11, 2022.