In This Newsletter Issue

NEWS RELEASE: ITEEA Recognizes Outstanding Educators/Programs at 84th Annual Conference


March 23, 2022

March 23, 2022 —
ITEEA Recognizes Outstanding Educators/Programs at
84th Annual Conference
RESTON, VA., MARCH 23, 2022 – Outstanding technology and engineering educators and students were honored by the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) at its 84th Annual Conference held March 9-12, 2022 in Orlando, Florida. 
Classroom educators and programs at the elementary, middle, and high school levels received ITEEA’s Teacher Excellence Award and Program Excellence Award, the most prestigious awards given in recognition of Technology and Engineering Education Teachers and Programs.
Also awarded were Special Recognition Awards to the following individuals:
  • Academy of Fellows: Steven A. Barbato, DTE
  • Award of Distinction: Gregory Kane, DTE
  • William E. Dugger Exemplary Collaboration Award: Deborah K. Marshall
  • Presidential Citation: Thomas Loveland, DTE
  • Wilkinson Meritorious Service Award: Michael Fitzgerald, DTE
  • Lockette/Monroe Humanitarian Award: Douglas Lecorchick
  • Prakken Professional Cooperation Award: Frank Caccavale
  • Public Understanding of Technology and Engineering Education Award: Kenneth Robinson
  • Burke Supervision and Shared Leadership Award: Brendan Murphy
ITEEA also bestowed the Distinguished Technology and Engineering Professional designation on ten individuals. The DTE designation is a coveted mark of distinction in technology and engineering education and recognizes educators who have demonstrated a high level of competence and conscientiousness in the field. Recipients included:
  • Troy Blunier
  • Sharon A. Brusic
  • Eric Deneault
  • Scott Greenhalgh
  • Dean Lange
  • Tyler Love
  • Abbi Richcreek
  • Greg Strimel
  • Blaire Thrasher
  • Ken Zushma
Additionally, eight individuals received the distinction of Emerging Leader, which recognizes technology, innovation, design, and engineering educators who have demonstrated a high level of competence and professional activity in the field of technology and engineering education. 2022 recipients included:
  • Jana Bonds
  • James Carlson
  • Trevor Maiseroulle
  • Byron McKay
  • Brendan Murphy
  • Jessica Murphy
  • Korbin Shearer
  • David Stroud
ITEEA President, Debra Shapiro, DTE shared, "I am in awe of the achievements of these outstanding educators. Even during the trials of a pandemic, they rose to the occasion and thrived: providing award-level educational opportunities for their students and demonstrated support for colleagues. ITEEA is proud to bestow recognition on all who were honored in Orlando."
ITEEA will hold its 85th Annual Conference in Minneapolis, MN on
April 12-15, 2023.
ITEEA ( is the professional organization for technology, innovation, design, and engineering educators. Its mission is to promote technological literacy for all by supporting the teaching of technology and promoting the professionalism of those engaged in these pursuits. ITEEA strengthens the profession through leadership, professional development, membership services, publications, and classroom activities.
Media Contact:
Kathleen de la Paz
Communications Director