ITEEA's Elementary STEM Council's Third Global Design Challenge (GDC)

ITEEA’s Elementary STEM Council is proudly sponsoring the 3rd Global Design Challenge for Elementary STEM (GDC). This GDC provides students with a chance to solve a real problem and show the world that everyone can help find solutions to these global challenges. This STEMinar will provide educators with an overview of the GDC, suggestions for preparing students to solve the challenge, suggestions for utilizing the engineering design process, hints outlining the role of the teacher, methods for integrating the GDC into your classroom instruction, and hints for successfully demonstrating the solutions proposed by your students.

Dr. Michael K. Daugherty is a Distinguished Professor of STEM Education in the College of Education and Health Professions at the University of Arkansas. He earned a BS, MS, and EdD. from Oklahoma State University. Daugherty speaks nationally and internationally on STEM education, project-based learning, technological literacy, standards, and curriculum development. Daugherty is the author of 26 books and book chapters, over 65 journal articles, and numerous curriculum sets. He has conducted more than 100 presentations and keynote addresses at state, national, and international conferences. Daugherty has been the recipient of numerous awards including the Technology Teacher Educator of the Year Award by the American Council on Technology Teacher Education, the Award of Distinction by the International Technology & Engineering Educators Association, and most recently, the Mary Margaret Scobey Award by the Elementary STEM Council.  



Virginia R. Jones, Ph.D., DTE is President-Elect of ITEEA as well as the Dean of Student Success and Enrollment Services at Patrick Henry Community College in Martinsville, VA. Dr. Jones also serves as Co-field editor of ITEEA's Elementary STEM Journal (formely Children's Technology and Engineering Journal), Vice President of Programming for The Elementary STEM Council, and Chair of ITEEA's Membership Diversity Task Force. She is a former CTE and algebra teacher and middle school principal.