Public Understanding of Technology and Engineering Education Award

Deadline: November 1



This award shall be given to an individual who, while working in his/her field, has also contributed substantially to the public understanding of technology and engineering. Nominations are encouraged to identify candidates whose contributions have reached broad audiences and have a sustained record of contributing to the public understanding of technology and engineering. 

This award is presented at ITEEA's Annual Conference.


  • Self nominations are accepted.
  • In most cases, there is only one winner per awards cycle.
  • If not selected, nominees can request that their materials be added to the next awards cycle. Materials will not roll over without a request.
  • To upload support materials after application submission, use the upload link below and include nominee's last name, name of award, and author's name as part of file names (e.g., "Jones Public Understanding Award - support letter Smith")


  • 2024 | Julie Sicks-Panus, DTE
  • 2023 | Dr. Euisuk Sung
  • 2022 | Kenneth M. Robinson
  • 2021 | Dr. Virginia R. Jones, DTE
  • 2020 | Dr. Marie Hoepfl & Dr. Thomas Loveland, DTE
  • 2019 | Scott R. Bartholomew & Victor Stefan
  • 2018 | Cathi Cox-Boniol
  • 2015 | Gerhard L. Salinger

2014 and Earlier

  • William A. Wulf
  • Rodger W. Bybee
  • Dr. Joyce Winterton